U-Mary OT Professor Recognized As Chamber's Outstanding Higher Education Teacher


Bismarck, ND-Wednesday, May 11, The Outstanding Teacher of the Year Committee of the Bismarck-Mandan Chamber of Commerce presented Dr. Janeene Sibla, associate professor and occupational therapy program director, with the 2011 Outstanding Teacher of the Year for Higher Education Award.

In making the announcement, Chamber spokesmen said:

Sibla's nomination inspired the nominating committee to consider her for the honor with statements that included, "Her experience, personality and organization have helped the program grow from a time five years ago where we were struggling to fill our classes to now where we have a long waiting list. She has the utmost respect for all, but has the uncanny ability to guide students through murky situations where they grow and prosper from experience."

Sibla is credited with bringing novelty and enthusiasm to the classroom; characteristics her students love and appreciate about her teaching style.

Sibla began teaching at the university full time in 2002 and was named program director in 2006. She received her master's degree 2003 and her doctorate in 2007. She is highly respected and loved by peers and students alike. She is involved at Spirit of Life church and the Bismarck High School volleyball boosters club. She is a three-time Bush Grant recipient and was named in the "Who's Who Among American Teachers" in 2005. She also volunteered at the Ruth Meiers Hospitality House and the Kids Therapy Center.

The Bismarck-Mandan Chamber of Commerce congratulates Dr. Janeene Sibla on being the recipient of the 2011 Outstanding Higher Education Teacher of the Year [award]. The Outstanding Teacher of the Year is sponsored by Tires Plus, Rasmussen College, Sykes Enterprises and Carpet World.

The Outstanding Teacher of the Year Awards were begun in 1987. Criteria considered when selecting the recipient are: (1) Direct contact with students for at least 51 percent of a normal working day; (2) Achievements, accomplishments, awards, and innovative methods used; (3) Contributions made within their profession; and (4) Community involvement. The winners are chosen by the Chamber's Business Education Partnership Committee.

Sibla joins U-Mary faculty Donna Stack (1995), Julie Klein (1996), Dr. Joanne Gladden (1998), Dr. Mary Dockter (2004), Dr. Michael Lares (2005), and Sister Kathleen Angel (2010) as recipients of the prestigious crystal apple.