Governor Appoints Respiratory Therapy Professor to Tobacco Prevention and Control Advisory Committee

Bismarck, N.D.-Dr. Beth Hughes, associate professor and respiratory therapist from Bismarck, was appointed by Gov. John Hoeven to serve a three-year term on the Tobacco Prevention and Control Advisory Committee, a nine-person board created by Measure 3, which voters passed in 2008.

As a new member, Hughes will represent the ND Society for Respiratory Care. She has practiced respiratory therapy for 30 years and is a professor for the St. Alexius Medical Center and University of Mary Respiratory Therapy Program, where she has been teaching respiratory therapy for 23 years. Hughes has served as an executive board member for the Bismarck Tobacco Free Coalition since 2002 and has been active in Tobacco Free North Dakota.

The Tobacco Prevention and Control Advisory Committee is charged with developing and evaluating Saving Lives -- Saving Money, North Dakota's Comprehensive State Plan to Prevent and Reduce Tobacco Use 2009-2014. The plan's goals are to significantly reduce tobacco use and its health and economic consequences by using policies and programs proven to keep kids from starting to use tobacco, help tobacco users quit, and protect everyone from secondhand smoke.